Future Teachers of Tomorrow

The future of technology in the classroom

Gifted students in the classroom September 22, 2012

Filed under: Students in the Classroom — stonej50 @ 5:49 pm
Tags: , ,

When teaching in an elementary classroom, I am going to have all different types of students. I plan to teach special education in an inclusive classroom, which opens up the door for more chance of gifted students to be in my classroom. Having a gifted student means that the student may be exceptionally smart but have social and behavioral issues. Chandra Moseley, mother of a gifted child, talks about the positives and negatives of having a gifted daughter. She talks about how when her daughter, Nya, colors, if she draws outside of the lines she gets very frustrated and freaks out.

Gifted students tend to want to be perfectionists. Nya’s teacher, Brenda Natt, always cuts the erasers off the pencils in the classroom for the students to teach them that it is OK to make mistakes and that not everything always has to be perfect. This is important for me in the future because I need to realize that there are many different types of students that I will encounter in the classroom and need to learn how to deal with the differences and help students progress and succeed.

 

5 Responses to “Gifted students in the classroom”

  1. Your concept of not having to be a perfectionist is critical to teach students. Teachers are there to expand their students knowledge and creativity. Working with Special Ed or gifted students is in my opinion much harder than teachinig regular ed students because it takes more patinces, and dedication. As a Special Ed teacher you are teachingg basic skills, and often times shaping and creating the way the student will learn. It is important to strive for perfection but as long as students are doing their best and giving their best than that is what matters. The extra stress of being a perfectionist can effect the student and their performance in a negative way. Making mistakes is how students learn and grow.

  2. therealsmaf Says:

    An excellent college course to take for learning how to accommodate highly gifted students in the classroom as well as students with special needs is Differentiated Instruction. The class truly shows you how different each student and demonstrates different strategies to handle situations and activities. The key to a successful classroom and learning community is exploring how our students learn, and adjusting our pedagogy to benefit their experience.

  3. I am also studying to be a future teacher and my goal is to focus on special education, so I find your post very interesting to read! I really like the idea of cutting of the erasers and I wish one of my teachers in the past did this to me. I am such a perfectionist and am really scared of making mistakes. So, when I am a teacher in the future I will definitely try to make sure my students know that it is okay to make mistakes. As a college student, I am just learning it now in my writing, research, and technology class. My professor instructed the class to do a project but be open to making mistake and messing up. I, personally, found this extremely difficult.

  4. catemccall Says:

    No matter where you teach, you are always going to have different types of students. Sometimes with the gifted students, you have to be careful. You want them to be able to feel like they are a part of the class, and make sure they don’t feel like they’re different. I like the idea of cutting off the erasers that the teacher did. Students have to know that yes, they can make mistakes and that it is okay to make mistakes. To this day, no one is perfect and that is perfectly fine.

  5. I also want to teach special education on an inclusion classroom. I am currently taking Differentiated Instruction which is really teaching me about strategies of successfully doing this. Additionally, I recently visited an out-of-district school for students who can not stay in district schools due to behavioral disorders, or other problems. After only an hour of observing the teachers, I could not imagine how difficult it is to juggle so many different types of students. I am actually going to start volunteering there on Fridays in order to gain experience in this setting.


Leave a Reply

