Future Teachers of Tomorrow

The future of technology in the classroom

Changing into a Digital-Friendly Classroom October 8, 2012

Back in High School, I remember buying a $130 TI-89 calculator to solve my tricky Algebra problems, and I constantly forget to bring it with to class with me. When I found that the class required strenuous computed work, I was faced with making a hard decision; whether or not to use my iPhone as a calculator. On my iPhone, there is an application that performed the same functions as a graphing calculator with a nicer interface. My teacher at the time was a very sweet elderly woman who liked to handle Math the old school way, breaking down the logic in sections and adding jingles to expressions as pneumonic devices, so when the cell phone and lap top came around she found it threatening to her lessons. You can’t blame her, I know many people would take advantage of this opportunity and abuse the privilege of a cell phone, but how are we as future teachers going to change that behavior? In an article by Cindy Matthews on Snow.ocad.ca, she suggests a new format to the classroom experience. Imagine couches instead of desks. iPads, iPhones and laptops instead of paper, that students could use to respond in real-time to questions proposed by the teacher through their own device. The classroom would all be connected without the threat of destroying the true definition of education, but rather redefining it. The modern school system is falling apart, and responsibly inviting technology into the classroom can greatly benefit student learning.

 

3 Responses to “Changing into a Digital-Friendly Classroom”

  1. gianno66 Says:

    I have to admit, all throughout school I was able to use a calculator and I wish that weren’t the case. Today, I have trouble doing simple problems in my head without one because I was so dependent on the technology telling me the right answer. Like your article talked about though, teachers today and future teachers need to accommodate technology within the classroom to meet each students needs. It is sad that we have to change things around but our society is just becoming more involved with technology, there is no stopping it.

  2. candiapple22 Says:

    Having to agree with gianno66, I personally had a slight problem with relying on technology for the fact that before I came into Rowan I had to take a math course because I was just shy of the score that they wanted. Math was never, and still is not my weakness. When I had entered that class on the first day, only about 4 of us knew what we were doing by using our mind as a second technique. The other 15 or so individuals had no idea what they were doing without a calculator. We have become so reliant on technology in the classroom (which is the easy way to go) that when you need to take a step back and do it the old fashion way, some people are completely confused and lost. Scared of not know what to do. We lost 10 people in that class because they could not do the mathematics without using technology. If that was happening in 2009 when I came in, imagine the years after me who are so reliant on technology. According to your article, teachers need to accommodate technology in the classroom; however, they need to not let it run their classroom. Control, is the key.

  3. sishol09 Says:

    I agree with both of you! This article was a great one to pick for a few reasons. I feel that technology hurts us just as much as it helps us. It effects us in many different ways and for me it really hurt me in math. I struggled with my from day 1 but I was always able to use a calculator which helped me get over my fears of having to take a math class. In high school we were told to use a calculator so why not I was not gonna not use it. I had to take a math placement test for college and did so poorly. I was embarrassed to see my results. Could a calculator have really effected my math skills. Well it did and I was shocked to see that. When i took my math course at Camden County College and not being able to use a calculator I struggled and hated math every since. Technology has its pros cons. I cant even imagine what its going to be like in five years. I think when doing math from day one it should all be done on pen and paper and mentally. Teachers need to also make sure they are not doing everything through technology and explain to their students that its not something they should rely on.


Leave a Reply

